September/October 2023: Weekends in Melbourne.

Such a long time between updates. I have been working a lot last year and only home to Melbourne a few times. Then we raced off to NZ for the summer and the day we returned to Aus we moved our life up to Canberra. So not much time to sit down and update this. 

Back in September and October I returned home for a weekend. And on the first one we headed out to the Zoo as it’s been a long time since i have visited it. Arriving first thing in the morning all the animals were still asleep and hiding away. The Lion enclosure was completely empty when we arrived and after walking all the way around we finally saw it come out and get the first gust of wind on its face. It slowly moved around and stretched a lot and then was happy and playful.

The penguins I did not expect to see at all today but this little guy was hiding out under the security camera and took us a while to spot. They were the only one that we could find.

Walking through the back of the monkey’s area there was a little hut that you could sit down in and watch them from. A lady was in there staying quiet and looking up at the roof. Which i found a bit strange as the monkeys were playing behind us. So i looked up and saw this possum with a baby poking out of the pouch. Getting my camera out i missed the baby further out but it snuck back in when its mum woke up and looked at me. When we left they have both gone back to sleep again in the rafters. 

And i love these guys. They are either standing on the highest rock as straight as possible and looking at the sun. Or laying back and relaxing like they have done the hardest day’s work and it’s too hard to ever move again. 

This enclosure was empty when we walked past and on the way back they slowly started coming out. I was going to wait until they made it to the grass to get a photo but it was taking a very long time. 

And this last guy was wide awake and moving around. I think it was the heat lamps that made all the difference. The nice warm red glow over that was radiating outside of the tank onto us as well. 

We had a great morning walking around the zoo and left just as all the crowds started to arrive. Sneaking out the back onto the tram and skipping the chaos in the carpark. Then into the city to visit all my favourite shops which I don’t need anything from but I always end up spending lots at. Outdoor toys stores are great. 

The next month was spent back at work in the hot sun and then I returned home for another few days of relaxing. This time we went and visited Fort Nepean for the day. It has been years since I have been down there and lots have crumbled over the time. 

I love that you park your car at the entrance and then walk all the way down to the end. There is a shuttle bus that you can pay for or you can take your bikes. But the walk is undercover a lot of the way and goes past different lookouts and other bunkers. 

The sea air and the rebar close to the surface of the concrete structures is not a good combination without a lot of maintenance. So I can see why everything is slowly falling apart and it would take a lot of work and rebuilding to restore the place. It’s similar to a lot of the city buildings I have had to repair that had concrete cancer. But this place is a whole lot worse. 

We had a perfect day to explore the park. There was no one else out here and the weather was cool and sunny. Only a slight breeze froze us when we were out in the open. 

The walk back to the cars is lovely with views the whole way along. Or you can ride your bike along the road. Just have to watch out for the shuttle bus. The car park closes of an evening but you can still walk and ride in after hours.This place is great for star photos as when you look south it’s all the way down to Tasmania before the next lot of lights. 

Getting out on my bike and riding around Melbourne was always a lot of fun. I got to see the new street art like this outside of the Prince of Wales. And to visit the outlet shops for new clothing to destroy at work. Kathmandu had a sale on Sun Hoodies. Around $120 down to $20 as they were a really ugly colour. Light, breathable and great protection from the harsh sun over in WA. I bought a few of them really cheap and after my first job they had changed colour forever. They did save me from the sun and i don’t need to wear as much sunscreen or remember to put more on. 

I also had to keep my skills up by taking macro photos. As i would be heading back to NZ over the summer holidays to go underground to chase down more cave critters.

Each time I come back from work I try to do something to get out and about. Though it is a whole lot less than what I would usually get up to. But with non stop work and lots of flying around. I just want to catch up on sleep and lie around when I’m back home.

One thought on “September/October 2023: Weekends in Melbourne.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.